Coach Alicia Fong

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Health Tip to start your New Year 2010

Happy New Year to everybody.  It’s a new year and we all have some things we like to accomplish this year.

One of my new year’s resolution is to be healthier this year.  If you are like me, I can give you few pointers today or at least share with you my plans on how to accomplish it.

  • Drink more water, 2 to 3 litters on average. Many people claimed to drinks lots of water and the answer I often get is 3 to 4 glasses a day.  That is not enough.  I am guilty of this too.  I will be the first one to admit I don’t drink enough water but I can tell you that I do notice a difference when I do have enough. I don’t feel constipated, my digestion moves better.  I am leaner because I am not bloated.  People think that drinking less water will prevent water bloating.  On the contrary, your body is retaining water to protect the body from dehydration so the brain is telling the body to hold water due to lack of water consumption into your body.  Drinking lots of water clears up the skin.
  • Eat healthier. If you have read my previous postings in my blog, you will know that I am against grains and dairy.  I know this is very hard for a lot of people to cut off.  Even for me,  once in a while, I crave for sushi and pasta, which both have grains.  Luckily for me, I have never been a big fan of any bread.  This is what I tell my clients, first cut one type of grain (either rice, bread or pasta/noodle) and one type of dairy (milk, yogurt or cheese).  Stick with this program for 3 weeks.  I will guarantee you that you will lose few pounds, (beware here, it’s not muscle or fat you are losing, but the water retention in your body).  Remember, grains causes inflammation in your body.  So cutting some will help.  Now, if you like the results in 3 weeks, then you cut another type of grain and dairy for another 3 weeks.  And you can do this until you are completely off grains and dairy.  I have so many clients that went off completely, and the results were phenomenon.  Not only do they look great (I mean losing up to 20 pounds in 2 months), but they feel great, energy-wise.  Click here to find out why grains and dairy are bad for you.
  • Avoid sugar.  I have a sweet tooth sometimes, and that is because my insulin levels are sometimes a little elevated.  If I control it, then I don’t have any cravings.  However, when you have cravings, it’s not easy to just say no to those yummy cookies, brownies, ice cream or cake.  I understand that, but try to eat less to start.  Wouldn’t be great if you simply don’t have cravings for sweets?  Well, it’s definitely doable.  If you balance your hormones, your cravings will stop.  Click here to learn more about it and here for results on a little experiment I did several months ago on controlling hormone levels.
  • Exercise. I don’t know if I talked about types of exercises that are best to lose weight.  This will require a whole different blog and I will write about it very soon but let me know tell you a little about it.  The best way to exercise for losing fat is not cardio but weights combined with metabolic exercise.  It’s about the EPOC effect on your body.  You get a better EPOC effect with weights than cardio.  In other words, you will burn more calories in longer period of time while doing weights instead of cardio.  When you supplement your strength workout with metabolic exercises (i.e. intervals workout) at the end of your program, you peak your GH (growth hormone) which is a fat burner hormone.  More details and explanation on this to come.  But for now, it’s important to get your body moving.  Get into the habit of exercising on a regular basis whether is cardio or weights, which is better than doing nothing.

I hope these few tips help you jump start your new year’s resolution.  I promise I will write more about different types of exercises and which exercises are the most effective for different goals.  I also like to thank all my followers and for reading my blog.  Wish you all the best of luck for 2010.

January 3, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Coach Fong,
    Impressive results with balancing your homrones. Could you let us in on what was your supplement/hormone protocol for those two weeks? Obviously, it was specific to YOU and to your test results and wouldn’t be copied. Just curious. Thanks.

    Comment by Jared | January 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

